The Fashion Awards 2017 in Partnership with Swarovski Winners Announced

05 December 2017
Back to news list
The Fashion Awards 2017 in Partnership with Swarovski Winners Announced


The British Fashion Council (BFC) is delighted to announce the winners of The Fashion Awards 2017 in partnership with Swarovski, which recognise creativity and innovation in fashion. Tonight, the Royal Albert Hall welcomed a global mix of 4,000 guests, including the fashion industry, students and members of the public to celebrate exceptional individuals whose imagination and creativity have broken new ground in fashion over the past 12 months; as well as brands and businesses that have transformed the possibilities of fashion today

The evening was hosted by Jack Whitehall and Karlie Kloss. Notable attendees included Adrian Joffe, Adwoa Aboah, Alexa Chung, Angelica Cheung, Anja Rubik, Ashley Graham, Christopher Bailey MBE, Connor McGregor, Donatella Versace, Derek Blasberg, Edward Enninful OBE, Erykah Badu, Eva Herzigova, Georgia May Jagger, Hailey Baldwin, Jose Neves, Kaia Gerber, Karlie Kloss, Imaan Hammam, Lewis Hamilton, Maisie Williams, Maria Grazia Chiuri, Dame Anna Wintour, Dame Natalie Massenet, Nadja Swarovski, Naomi Campbell, Pat McGrath MBE, Pink, Raf Simons, Rita Ora, Sam Smith, Selena Gomez, Stella McCartney OBE, Stella Maxwell, Stormzy, Winnie Harlow, Zadie Smith and Zendaya.

The evening at the iconic Royal Albert Hall in London celebrated fourteen awards, nine voted for by an international panel of 2000 industry opinion formers and five Special Recognition awards.  Each winner was given a unique Swarovski crystal trophy, commissioned by architectural designer John Pawson.

Christopher Bailey MBE received a surprise award for Outstanding Contribution to British Fashion, acknowledging his phenomenal transformation of Burberry since joining in 2000, turning the UK company into a renowned global fashion brand.

The late Azzedine Alaïa was celebrated for his incredible career spanning over 60 years, acknowledging him as one of the most respected and unique couturiers in the industry.

Accessories Designer of the Year: Jonathan Anderson for Loewe
Presented by Amber Valletta 

Business Leader: Marco Bizzarri for Gucci
Presented by Annie Lennox & Massimo Bottura

Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Maria Grazia Chiuri
Presented by Bianca Jagger

Model of the Year: Adwoa Aboah
Presented by Erykah Badu & Loyle Carner

Urban Luxe: Off-White
Presented by Hailey Baldwin

Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator: Pat McGrath MBE
Presented by Eva Herzigova

British Emerging Talent Menswear: Charles Jeffrey for Charles Jeffrey LOVERBOY
Presented by John Galliano CBE

British Emerging Talent Womenswear: Michael Halpern for Halpern
Presented by Pamela Anderson

Outstanding Contribution to British Fashion: Christopher Bailey MBE
Presented by Dame Anna Wintour

Special Recognition Award for Innovation: Stella McCartney OBE
Presented by Sir James Dyson

British Designer of the Year Menswear: Craig Green for CRAIG GREEN
Presented by FKA Twigs

British Designer of the Year Womenswear: Jonathan Anderson for JW Anderson
Presented by Zendaya

Fashion Icon: Donatella Versace for Versace
Performance by Rita Ora
Presented by Naomi Campbell

Designer of the Year: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein
Presented by Oliver Sim

The BFC Education Foundation is the charitable partner to The Fashion Awards 2017 in partnership with Swarovski and offers scholarships to talented young people to study at the UK’s best universities as well as opportunities to fund apprenticeships to develop much needed industry skills. The British Fashion Council aims to raise £10million over the next ten years for the charity. 

As part of their continued and generous support of The Fashion Awards 2017, Swarovski pledged £300,000 to the BFC Education Foundation in advance of the night itself. Donations to the BFC Education Foundation can be made online via